How we rank providers

Placement is computed from two things only: how many fields of a provider's record we have independently verified, and how many certifications we could confirm against a public registry. Payment plays no part. The exact formula is below, and it matches the code that generates every table on this site.

The ranking formula

  1. Verified field count, descending. Of the 8 fields we track per provider, how many we could confirm with a named source.
  2. Confirmed certification count, descending. Used only to break ties on the first criterion.
  3. Company name, alphabetically. Used only to break remaining ties, so ordering stays stable between builds.

A consequence worth stating plainly: this formula rewards providers who make information available, not providers who are best. A well-run company that publishes nothing will rank below a mediocre one with a detailed website. We think a transparent, checkable bias is better than an opaque quality score, but it is a bias, and you should factor it in.

Inclusion criteria

Providers

We must know what a provider does, which industries it serves, and where it operates — plus at least 2 more verified fields, 5 of 8 in total. Currently 222 of 247 records meet this.

Metro pages

At least 5 qualifying providers, plus specific local context. Currently 46 of 47 cities meet this.

Confirmed with the provider

3 of 222 published records have been confirmed with the company itself. The rest are compiled from public sources only, and say so on the page. Confirmation is free and does not affect ranking.

Unverified fields

Published as "Not disclosed". Never estimated, never inferred from similar companies.

Ageing data

Fields older than 12 months are flagged for recheck in the table rather than quietly shown as current.

Where the data comes from

  • Vendor partner directories published by Microsoft, Cisco, and similar vendors
  • Industry registries such as the CompTIA Trustmark listing
  • Provider websites, for service scope, coverage, and any published rates
  • Information supplied directly by providers who have claimed their listing, labelled as self-reported

Each field on a provider profile shows which of these it came from and when we last checked it.

How we make money, in full

Two ways. Providers can pay a monthly fee for an enhanced listing, which is labelled wherever it appears. Introductions are included in that subscription, so nothing changes hands per enquiry and no provider can outbid another for a buyer.

A provider can also pay for a Sponsored slot above the ordered list on a city page. We would rather say this plainly than let you find it out for yourself. Three things are true about those slots, and we hold ourselves to all three:

  • They are labelled Sponsored, above the list, before you scroll. Not in small print, and not a word that could be mistaken for anything else.
  • Nobody is pushed out to make room. A sponsored provider still appears in the ordered list below at the position the formula gives it. What is bought is visibility, not another company's place.
  • The number of slots is capped by how many providers a city has: two where we list 8 or more, one everywhere else. On a page with five providers, two paid slots would be nearly half of what you see, and that is not a comparison any more.

Inside the ordered list, payment moves nothing. We do not accept payment to add a provider, remove a competitor, reorder that list, or change what a profile says. If a provider asks us to, we will say so on their profile.

The reason to be this explicit: a comparison site's only real asset is whether buyers believe it. Selling that for a placement fee is a bad trade even when it is profitable.

Corrections

If a record is wrong, email info@ubusunaworks.jp and we will correct it. You do not need an account, and you do not need to be a paying customer. Providers who want ongoing control can claim their listing.

If you would rather not be listed at all, tell us and we will remove the record.

Questions about how this works

Can a provider pay to rank higher?

The ordered list is computed from verified field count and certification count only, and payment does not move a provider inside it. Separately, a provider can pay for a Sponsored slot shown above that list. A sponsored provider still appears in the ordered list at the position the formula gives it, and nobody is pushed out to make room.

Why are some providers missing?

We only publish a provider once we can describe it fairly: what it does, who it serves, and where it operates, plus at least 2 more verified fields. 25 records are currently held back for that reason. A missing company is one we have not finished researching, not one we judged poorly.

Why do some cities have no page?

A metro page is published only where at least 5 providers meet the bar and we have something specific to say about the local market. 1 city is currently below that line. Publishing them anyway would produce pages that look like listings but contain nothing a buyer could act on.

Why do you say "Not disclosed" instead of estimating?

Because an estimate presented in a comparison table reads as a fact. If we do not have a number, saying so is more useful than inventing a plausible one — and it tells you something real about the provider, which is that they do not publish it.

Who runs this site?

ManagedSpecs is operated by ubusuna works, based in Japan. We are not affiliated with any provider listed, and we do not accept payment to add, remove, or reorder a listing.